Uncategorized

IF I DIDN’T TRUST YOU…

Happy Independence Day_ Bald Eagle with Eaglets (Chicks).jpgThey say that an eagle knows its child will fly
That’s why it tosses it at the wind
Has anybody asked the eaglet if it trusted its mother
Enough to move from comfort to crises?
When the wind whips wild danger and insecurity
And slaps its wings to the west
Does its mother run to its rescue
Or watch from a distance as it makes flight to life?

If I didn’t trust you, I’ll be that eaglet that refuses to fly
I’ll cling to the nest or the cliff
And rebel against every effort to spread my wings
If I didn’t trust you, I’ll hide under the strongest leaves
And shield myself from your loving lead
Till exhaustion collapses your innocent intentions
If I didn’t trust you, I’ll refuse to be an eagle
I’ll crash myself against an angry rock
Till it breaks off me every strand of hair
If I didn’t trust you, I’ll disown my potentials
I’ll deny my identity for the basest bites
And hide under the dust as if I wasn’t yours at first.

Leave a Reply

