ASK IF I’M NERVOUS

Twitter9b9c4d1There’s forever that creeping fear
That takes you on a stroll
To give you a dozen reasons
Why you cannot have a voice
Why you cannot have a dream
Why you cannot fight to win
Or even have a miracle.

It yells so loudly in your head
Telling you why you are only a babe
Who deserves no fortune or glory
Who should never walk the path
That ancient adults trod.

It tells you to call your visions lies
To cast your plans to the pigs
To live the day like it owns you
To drink from its jar of anxiety
Since it from you has drained all courage.

But ask me if this fear frightens me
Ask if he makes me shiver
Ask if he makes me nervous
Ask if I’m living in faith
Or dying under the fury of fearful fate.

Leave a Reply

