April

NO TIME FOR TOMORROW

Last night, it rained a storm
I hid myself in the corner of my closet
Hoping to get over my failures
I had drowned in the shipwreck
The one that swallowed folks on land
And sealed their nostrils from oxygen.

I’ve found failures in my victories
Been crushed by trials and attempts
Deserted in my hope of stardom
I almost looked away in disgrace
Frightened at the voice of my own will
Which taunts me even by day.

My spirit eagerly awaits a prize
Certain that there’s no time for later
Who says tomorrow will always come
Who says dawn is meant to dance in
Who says we’re not trying in vain
Attempting fiction like it’s fact?

Leave a Reply

